Essential oils diffuser 2026: 7 electric diffusers compared for UK homes

What each machine takes, how far it reaches and what a millilitre costs: seven diffusers side by side.

By The Essential Oils Diffuser editors · Updated

A Scentech diffuser on a stone bathroom shelf beside a folded towel and a round mirror

Our ranking at a glance

  1. Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro in aluminium
    1

    Best overall · 100 m²

    Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro

    9.2 rating€219.95

    Advertisement See the offer

  2. Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2 in taupe
    2

    Best value · same system

    Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2

    9.0 rating€149.95

    Go to number 2

  3. No product photo
    3

    The only stated room size

    Beurer LA 40

    6.4 rating£39.99

    Go to number 3

  4. No product photo
    4

    Bought over the counter

    John Lewis Electric Diffuser

    5.8 rating£50

    Go to number 4

  5. No product photo
    5

    Made by an oil house

    Tisserand Aroma Spa Diffuser

    5.6 rating£43

    Go to number 5

  6. No product photo
    6

    Up to ten weeks per 15 ml

    Stoneglow Perfume Mist

    5.2 rating£65

    Go to number 6

  7. No product photo
    7

    Ceramic, for occasional use

    John Lewis Speckled Ceramic

    4.5 rating£55

    Go to number 7

The seven electric diffusers, ranked

  1. Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro in aluminium
    1

    Best overall · 100 m²

    Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro

    9.2 rating

    4.7 on Trustpilot (281 reviews)

    Sealed pods of blended oil, made into dry mist without water or warmth, plus four days of battery.

    up to 100 m² coverage± 39.5 dB whisper-quietwaterlesstouchscreen + app

    • Charges while it keeps running
    • Aircraft-grade aluminium body
    • One-year guarantee, 30-day returns
    • The dearest machine here
    • Pods only: no loose essential oil

    €219.95£27 a pod, 1–3 monthsFree with 9 scents

    Advertisement See the offer

    Diffusers for large rooms

  2. Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2 in taupe
    2

    Best value · same system

    Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2

    9.0 rating

    The same pod system on a mains lead: 65 m², seventy euros less.

    up to 65 m² coverage± 39.5 dB whisper-quietwaterlessapp + dial

    • Pods click in; nothing to pour
    • Warm ambient light
    • Aluminium with taupe fabric
    • Mains only, no battery
    • A month per pod on the highest setting

    €149.95£27 a pod, 1–3 monthsFree with 7 scents

    Advertisement See the offer

    How to use one

  3. No product photo
    3

    The only stated room size

    Beurer LA 40

    6.4 rating

    4.5 on John Lewis (35 reviews)

    180 ml of water and water-soluble oil, in what John Lewis sells as a table lamp.

    up to 20 m² coveragenoise not statedwater-based (180 ml)timer 1, 3 or 7 hours

    • Seven hours from one fill
    • John Lewis includes a three-year guarantee
    • Water-soluble oil only, not neat
    • Emptied and dried daily (US EPA)

    £39.99loose oil, cost not stated

    See at John Lewis

  4. No product photo
    4

    Bought over the counter

    John Lewis Electric Diffuser

    5.8 rating

    4.2 on John Lewis (103 reviews)

    The retailer's instructions are the specification: 100 ml of water, 2–3 drops of oil, 45 minutes.

    coverage not statednoise not statedwater-based (100 ml)timer

    • Any essential oil you already own
    • Switches off when dry
    • Refilled every 45 minutes at that rate
    • Emptied and dried daily (US EPA)

    £50loose oil, cost not stated

    See at John Lewis

  5. No product photo
    5

    Made by an oil house

    Tisserand Aroma Spa Diffuser

    5.6 rating

    4.6 on tisserand.com (11 reviews)

    Four to five hours per 100 ml; bottles on the same page.

    coverage not statednoise not statedwater-based (100 ml)intermittent or continuous mist

    • Intermittent mode: 30 seconds on, 30 off
    • Water-level indicator on the body
    • Eleven reviews, one of them one-star
    • One buyer: the cover will not twist off

    £43brand oils, £12.00 per bottle

    See at tisserand.com

  6. No product photo
    6

    Up to ten weeks per 15 ml

    Stoneglow Perfume Mist

    5.2 rating

    4.3 on John Lewis (13 reviews)

    15 ml of perfume oil; ten weeks, per John Lewis.

    coverage not statednoise not statedwater not statedcontrols not stated

    • £11.00 for 15 ml, £0.73 a millilitre
    • John Lewis lists a one-year guarantee
    • The retailer never says if it uses water
    • Refilled with the brand's own diffuser oil

    £65brand oil, £0.73 per ml

    See at John Lewis

  7. No product photo
    7

    Ceramic, for occasional use

    John Lewis Speckled Ceramic

    4.5 rating

    One John Lewis review, rated 5.0

    The same 100 ml and 45 minutes as number four, in ceramic.

    coverage not statednoise not statedwater-based (100 ml)controls not stated

    • Takes any loose oil
    • Runs off a 24 V DC adaptor
    • John Lewis: "for occasional household use only"
    • One review only

    £55loose oil, cost not stated

    See at John Lewis

Seven machines, seven figures

Seven machines against the numbers their makers and shops print, dated 9 September 2026. Blank means unpublished.

ModelCoverageNoiseWaterControlsPriceScent per month
Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Proup to 100 m² coverage± 39.5 dBwaterlesstouchscreen + app€219.95£27 pod, 1–3 months
Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2up to 65 m² coverage± 39.5 dBwaterlessapp + dial€149.95£27 pod, 1–3 months
Beurer LA 40up to 20 m² coveragenot statedwater-based (180 ml)timer 1, 3 or 7 hours£39.99loose oil, not stated
John Lewis Electric Diffusernot statednot statedwater-based (100 ml)timer£50loose oil, not stated
Tisserand Aroma Spa Diffusernot statednot statedwater-based (100 ml)intermittent or continuous£43£12.00 per bottle
Stoneglow Perfume Mistnot statednot statednot statednot stated£65£0.73 per ml
John Lewis Speckled Ceramicnot statednot statedwater-based (100 ml)not stated£55loose oil, not stated

Which diffuser suits you

Loose essential oil or a sealed pod?

Five machines take loose oil, a few drops at a time in water. Two take sealed 65 ml pods of blended fragrance oil. Loose oil is freedom; a pod is no decanting.

water-basedwaterless

What does a millilitre cost?

One 65 ml pod, £27, covers one to three months. Loose oil is sold by the bottle instead: Tisserand at £12.00, or £0.73 for every millilitre of Stoneglow at John Lewis.

Which room is it for?

Among the five high-street machines only the Beurer commits to a figure, 20 m². Scentech puts the Diffuser 2 at 65 m² and the Pro at 100. Large rooms.

up to 20 m²up to 65 m²up to 100 m²

How much upkeep?

A tank wants filling, emptying and wiping dry every day (US EPA), plus limescale in hard water. A pod: a new one every one to three months. How to use one.

Four ways to put scent in the air

A reed bottle, a candle, a tank of water, a waterless atomiser: reach, upkeep and monthly outlay separate them.

Reed diffuser

Scented candle

Water diffuser

Waterless diffuser

How it worksReeds wick oil from a bottle; it evaporatesMelting wax releases fragrance oil above the flameDrops of oil in water, as cool mistUndiluted oil becomes a dry mist, no warmth, no water
Reachwherever the bottle sitsthe room it burns in10–35 m² where stated40–100 m² according to makers
Upkeepflip the reeds once a weekwick clipped, 3–4 hours maximum a burnempty and dry it daily (US EPA)click in a new pod
Safety and noiseno flame, silentnaked flame: never unattendedno flame; decibels rarely publishedno flame or water; quiet models ± 39.5 dB
Cost per monthroughly €10 monthly (250 ml over 3 months, euros)€40–55 at 3 hours daily (bol.com: €0.44–0.59 hourly)Tisserand bottles of 9–20 ml at £12.00; use not statedone £27 pod per 1–3 months (Scentech)

Our method

From two places only: specification tables published by makers and shops, and dated public reviews, read on 9 September 2026. We measured nothing; a gap in a column is a gap in the record. How we compare.

Maker and retailer specificationsPublic customer reviewsPrices read 9 September 2026No measurements of our own

  • stated coverage25 %
  • run time unattended20 %
  • cost per millilitre15 %
  • noise15 %
  • control10 %
  • upkeep10 %
  • review base5 %

Questions buyers ask

Can I use my own essential oils?

No. Both Scentech models run on sealed ScentPods — 65 ml of blended fragrance oil — and anything else voids its one-year guarantee. A shelf of oils wants a water-tank machine.

How far does one pod go?

Scentech puts a 65 ml pod at one to three months, a little past two at medium for twelve hours daily. Call it £9 to £27 monthly.

Will a Scentech order ship to a UK address?

Not that day. It dispatches from the Netherlands and names no British delivery time or shipping charge; a UK address typed in on 9 September 2026 returned "Shipping not available".

Why are Scentech's prices in euros?

Euro list prices, converted live by Shopify once you reach the till. The 9 September 2026 conversion showed a scent at £27.00 and the three machines at £101, £132 and £193.

What if a scent does not suit me?

Scentech gives 30 days to change your mind, says return postage is on them unless stated otherwise, and guarantees manufacturing faults for a year. Elsewhere the retailer's terms apply.

Top of the list: Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro

Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro in aluminium

Top of the list: Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro

Up to 100 m², waterless, four days on a charge.

free with 9 scents1 year guarantee30 days to returnTrustpilot 4.7, 281 reviews

Advertisement See the offer

Our pick: ScentechAdvertisementSee the offer